Passing the Test

Camaro Earns Perfect Score

Larry Jewett - November 25, 2011 09:28 AM


Camaro in crash test


Image 1 of 1

The 2012 Chevrolet Camaro Coupe is the first vehicle to receive the highest possible five-star score in every individual safety rating segment of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s New Car Assessment Program since the federal testing procedures were revised for 2011.
“Camaro has always been about performance, and that includes safety performance,” said Al Oppenheiser, Camaro chief engineer. “We always strive for five-star ratings, and the fact that we achieved them under more rigorous requirements is a great accomplishment.”
Aspects on the new Camaro that helped achieve the rating include a new rearview camera system (standard on 2LT and 2SS; available on 1LT and 1SS), six standard air bags, StabiliTrak electronic stabilitycontrol, standard four-wheel disc brake system, and pretensioners to reduce forward movement and load-limiting retractors on front safety belts.
Starting with 2011 models, NHTSA introduced tougher tests and more rigorous requirements for its five-star ratings that provide more information about safety feature performance and crash-avoidance technologies. Changes included a new side pole test simulating a 20-mph side-impact crash into a 10-inch-diameter pole or tree at a 75-degree angle just behind the A-pillar on the driver’s side.
In addition, new overall ratings which combine the results from the various tests, are provided. Under the revised program, the 2012 Camaro Coupe is the first vehicle to receive five stars in each individual rating segment and also receives five stars in the combined categories such as overall vehicle score.
The Camaro Convertible is not rated for the various crash segments since it has not yet been tested under the revised NCAP program, but it has received a five-star rollover rating.