Vipers at Daytona

Early Leaders and Podium Finish

Larry Jewett - January 29, 2014 01:00 PM


Image 1 of 1

The SRT (Street and Racing Technology) Motorsports Viper GTS-R teams paced the way for the GTLM class through the first eight hours of competition at the Rolex 24 At Daytona International Speedway with both the No. 91 and 93 Vipers leading the class.
SRT Motorsports driver and 2012 IndyCar champion Ryan Hunter-Reay was the third wheelman to climb into the No. 91 Viper GTS-R and pushed the car into the 10th overall position and GTLM lead just prior to the eight-hour mark. Before Hunter-Reay piloted the vehicle, Marc Goossens started the race from the pole position and Dominik Farnbacher drove during the race’s second segment with both drivers leading the class for multiple laps. This team would end up with a podium finish, claiming third in the GTLM class.
In the SRT Motorsports No. 93 Viper GTS-R, two-time European Le Mans Series champion Rob Bell drove the third stint for the team and also spent time pacing the GTLM class, as did his teammates Jonathan Bomarito and Kuno Wittmer.
All six SRT Motorsports Viper GTS-Rs drivers led laps in the GTLM class during their respective opening stints in the endurance event.
 The teams will prepare for the next event at Sebring in March.